Gallery Hopping in San Francisco

It feels like I have not been gallery hopping in San Francisco for a couple years especially with the shifting terrain of gallery locations over the last few years.  I caught wind of the opening of the Minnesota Street Projects in Dogpatch a couple weeks ago and was excited to find out that the space would be open before I arrived for my visit.

I hopped on the T Third Street Rail and headed to the Dogpatch neighborhood and marveled at the changes in the area since I was last in the area.  I remember playing a show in a small divey space in the neighborhood probably a decade ago and was fascinated by the industrial surroundings.  The industrial feel is still there, but there are clear changes.

Waiting at the Philz Coffee headquarters for another friend, we stopped in for a much needed caffeine boost and lounged on the comfy sofa.  The view of the Minnesota Project from Philz looked like this.

image

There are almost 10 galleries in the space at the moment.  With some familiar names that used to be on Geary, such as Rena Bransten, Anglim Gilbert, and Jack Fischer.  Eleanor Harwood is also located here.  A few names for me included Casemore Kirkeby, Et Al Etc., and Evergold Projects.

First of all, it is a beautiful and welcoming space.  It somehow reminded me of a scaled down version of the Glassell School of Art in Houston with its open plan and clear visibility of all the galleries from the ground floor.  Kirk Maxson’s exhibition at Eleanor Harwood, Enrique Chagoya’s exhibition at Anglim Gilbert, and Serge Attukwei Clottey at Evergold Projects were among my favorites.  I was hoping that Michael Sell’s exhibition at Jack Fischer was here, but it was at his main space on 16th and Potrero.  After a quick lunch at Hazel’s Kitchen with a roasted turkey cranberry sandwich and roast beef and cheddar sandwich, we headed to that intersection.  The Michael Sell exhibition at Jack Fischer was such a treat.  The images online do not do the work justice.  The three-dimensionality of the collages is only really evident in person.  Very very beautiful and inspiring.  I was quite satisfied with what I had seen up to that point and then we went hunting for Hosfelt Gallery which use to be South of Market on Clementina.  I remembered that there was an exhibition up that I wanted to see, but I could not remember who it was until we made our way into the gallery space…Tim Hawkinson!  He along with Tom Friedman are the two artists whose craft and concepts I have used as inspiration and reference ever since graduate school.  The enormous space of Hosfelt Gallery gave his works plenty of room to breathe.  His work which I have not seen in person in almost a decade did not disappoint in the least.  After lingering over all his pieces for what seemed too brief, we walked out happy with what we saw and had some drinks over at Pacific Brewery.

Leave a Reply

