2016 Memory Walks and Art Nagoya 2017

I had planned to spend this past weekend working in the studio catching up with my Memory Walk drawings for Art Nagoya 2017.  Unfortunately, the runny nose and lethargy on Friday afternoon indicated that my weekend would probably be spent otherwise and indeed that was the case.  Sixty hours of lying around on the sofa or the bed rewatching old movies and old TV shows and blowing my nose through two boxes of tissue…

Before I knew that I had such a fun-filled weekend ahead of me, I made plans to head to Nagoya on Monday to do a site visit for Art Nagoya 2017 which takes place from February 17th – 19th.

During my last visit to Nagoya in December, we worked out the details of what I would install in the window of the Nagoya Castle Westin room on the 9th floor.  This is what the original idea looked like.

2016%e5%b9%b4%e6%95%a3%e6%ad%a9%e8%a8%98%e6%86%b6-art-nagoya-2017Each “helix” represents one month of 2016 Memory Walks going from January to December (left to right).  The idea was to have the Memory Walks helices cover the skyline leaving the landscape and Nagoya Castle unobstructed.

Of course there is the matter of perspective – depending on where one stands, the view of the landscape changes and it will only look like this from one vantage point.  Adding further uncertainty to layout of this installation was the fact I was using an image that I pulled off the web to make this layout.  I had measurements for the window of the room, but I could only guess at the perspective of the land/skyscape.  As a result, we discussed the possibility of making the spacing of the eggshells adjustable.  This was something that I had not considered in the three years of the Memory Walks Project.  I had always fixed the eggshells to the nylon/string by putting a dab of super glue on the top of the eggshell and the nylon/string at a given length.  I had never really been forced to think about making the attachment of the eggshell to the nylon/string adjustable.  So afterwards, I began considering a number of ways of anchoring the eggshells on the nylon/string.  After spending several hours at Tokyu Hands and many more hours of procrastination and anxiety, I settled on two possible ways of anchoring the eggshells to the nylon/string.

  1.  Foamcore disc

file-1-16-17-20-17-59

2.  Silicone rubber square/disc

file-1-16-17-20-17-45

I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly the super glue bonded with both materials and I could see that this was going to make my life a lot easier.  I am leaning towards the silicon rubber for two reasons.  I like the smaller footprint of the silicon rubber along with the fact that the silicon rubber closes in on the nylon/string once it is threaded through.  I would allow me to space the rubber without worrying too much about the spacing changing too much or at all.

As I started thinking more and more about how to make this installation happen, I became more and more concerned that I was not working from actual measurements or photographs of the specific hotel room.  I also was not sure how fast I could work even if the spacers were adjustable.  I would rather go into the space with a plan based on actual measurements and make any necessary adjustments from there.  In December, the gallerist and I spoke about the possibility of arranging a site visit to the hotel room in January.  I had planned to visit an acryilc specialty shop this past weekend before the site visit was scheduled as well as the unscheduled cold.  I was going to place orders for the acrylic disks and tubing to hang the eggshells when I ultimately decided that I needed to see the space in person and take any or all necessary measurements before committing to the order of acrylic materials.

It turns out 60 hours of doing absolutely nothing made my quick trip to Nagoya bearable.  I arrived at the Nagoya Castle Westin and went up to the room with the gallerist.

As it turns out, the skyline does not occupy as much of the window as the above photo suggests.  This is what the window looks like when I stand in the middle of the room at the opposite wall and crouch down about one foot.

r0023981
Even the in the best case scenario, the skyline only occupies about half the window space and height of Nagoya Castle leaves little space on top to hang the Memory Walks.  After a bit of discussion and a lot of measurements, this is what I am going with.

%e3%83%95%e3%82%9a%e3%83%ac%e3%82%bb%e3%82%99%e3%83%b3%e3%83%86%e3%83%bc%e3%82%b7%e3%83%a7%e3%83%b31Not quite as consistent as the original plan, but I think the display of 5 hanging helices flanking Nagoya Castle on both sides along with two helices displayed on stands below the outline of Nagoya Castle will emphasize the beautiful view from this room.  It also gives me an opportunity to play around with two different ways of displaying my Memory Walks in ways that they could occupy a space more like an object rather than an installation.  I have all the measurements that I need, so I need to make a layout of what I need for the 10 hanging helices and 2 standing helices and head over to the acrylic specialty shop this weekend.

Leave a Reply

